What States Have Legalized Weed?

Marijuana comes from dried leaves in cannabis, a medicinal plant. It’s also known as weed. When we hear the word weed or marijuana, we automatically think of it as a vice. But it actually is a great help for those who need it for medical issues! Now that marijuana has been legalized in some states, there are now many people who have started taking advantage of its medicinal benefits! There is some debate regarding the legalization of weed, as it can be a very addictive drug if used carelessly. Either way, there are states that have you purchase and use marijuana legally, but with certain conditions, depending on the state. In this article, we show you what states have legalized weed and what you need to know about it. 130814195816-01-marijuana-horizontal-large-gallery

What States Have Legalized Weed?

As of now, there are 24 states that have legalized marijuana, with 11 more that may follow suit. These are for medical marijuana, meaning it is for patients who have the appropriate medical certificate to allow them to purchase and use marijuana as a form of medicine. But there are some places and states around the US that allow the use of marijuana as a recreation. Alaska, Oregon, Colorado, Washington, and some parts of Columbia have allowed people to use marijuana for leisure. But they also have their limits and it depends on the area you are in. For example, in Columbia, you are now allowed to carry up to 2 ounces of weed and own six plants, but you won’t be able to purchase it around the area.marijuana-plants-160610

It’s best to know how much weed you are allowed to carry or plant in order to avoid trouble with the law. It’s also best to know the states that only allow marijuana for medicinal use. Here are the following states that require a medical certificate in order for you to purchase and use weed:

  1. Alaska
  2. Arizona
  3. California
  4. Colorado
  5. Connecticut
  6. Delaware
  7. Hawaii
  8. Illinois
  9. Maine
  10. Maryland
  11. Massachusetts
  12. Michigan
  13. Minnesota
  14. Montana
  15. Nevada
  16. New Hampshire
  17. New Jersey
  18. New Mexico
  19. New York
  20. Oregon
  21. Pennsylvania
  22. Rhode Island
  23. Vermont
  24. Washington

These are the 24 states that have allowed medicinal marijuana and decriminalized the substance. It is still illegal in other states, so make sure you follow and adhere to the rules of each state you visit when it comes to using and purchasing marijuana.